UNESCO World Heritage Site


The San Antonio Missions National Historical Park, along with the Alamo, the park was named the first World Heritage Site in Texas by the United Nations Organization for Education, Science and Culture (UNESCO), and includes the city’s four southernmost Spanish colonial missions – Concepción, San José, San Juan and Espada. In the 18th century, Spanish priests established these five Catholic missions along the San Antonio River to serve as the center of an ethnically diverse society. Today, the missions – walled compounds encompassing a church and buildings where the priests and local Native Americans lived – represent the largest concentration of Spanish colonial missions in North America.


Common Questions:

How much does admission to the San Antonio Missions cost?
Admission to the San Antonio Missions is free.

What are the hours of the Missions?
San Antonio Missions National Historical Park:

  • Contact Stations at Mission San Juan & Mission Espada: 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Visitor Center at Mission San José: 9:00 AM – 5:00 PM, daily<
  • Closed on Thanksgiving Day, Christmas Day and New Year’s Day

Is there parking at San Antonio Missions National Historical Park?
Free parking is available at each of the Mission sites.